

# Promoting trails in Santa Clara County for the benefit and enjoyment of all

# Minutes Save Our Trails General Meeting Monday, March 12. 2012 Willow Glen Baptist Church

#### **ADMINISTRATION**

#### Attendance

#### Honored Guests in Attendance

Terry Christensen, Department of Political Science, SJSU; Michael Mulcahy, Development Partner for the Garden Retail Project; Yves Zsutty, City of San Jose Trails Manager

#### **Directors in Attendance**

Joan Bohnett, Martin Delson, Rick Hernandez, Taisia McMahon, Jack Nadeau, Mary Ellen Petrich, Bill Rankin, Richard Silva, Lars Thurfjell (making a quorum).

# **Directors Absent**

Roland LeBrun (Excused)

## **Directors on Leave**

**Shirley Rogers** 

## Members in Attendance

Larry Ames, Garnetta Annable, Helen Chapman, Nancy Ianni, Jake Jacobson, Barbara Keegan, Annette Rankin, Thomas Schaefer, Bruce Tichinin and others

#### Visitors in Attendance

About forty members of the public.

#### **Program**

Taisia McMahan welcomed the audience, introduced the speakers, and presented each of them with a certificate of appreciation.

• Michael Mulcahy spoke on "The case for accommodating trails on private developments"

- Yves Zsutty spoke on "San Jose's trail development efforts"
- Terry Christensen spoke on "The role of the community in the development of the Five Wounds Trail"
- Bruce Tichinin spoke on "The future of the Three Creeks Trail"

#### Voting

Paid-up Active Members were given a ballot and allowed to cast their votes for the open seats on the Board of Directors as well as for Vice-President and Secretary.

On March 25, Larry Ames, the Chairman of the Nominating Committee, sent the Board an email with the following results of the election:

SOT currently has 46 voting members. As per the Bylaws, a quorum is 10% of the voting members, or 5 votes. The 24 ballots cast at the Spring 2012 meeting easily met the quorum requirement.

Every member and position on the ballot received at least 20 votes, easily exceeding the majority threshold. Thus:

The following members have been elected for a 2-year term for the SOT Board (2012-14):

Jake Jacobson

Scott Lane

Roland Lebrun

Taisia McMahon

Mary Ellen Petrich

Bill Rankin

Lars Thurfjell

Corinne Asturias

Martin Delson

These Boardmembers join the current Boardmembers elected last year for the 2011-13 Board:

Joan Bohnett

Jack Nadeau

Shirley Rogers

Richard Silva

**Bruce Tichinin** 

We thank outgoing Boardmember Rick Hernandez for his service on the Board these past years.

The following Officer Positions have been filled:

President: Taisia McMahon Secretary: Martin Delson

They join Vice President Bill Rankin and Treasurer Mary Ellen Petrich, whose positions were not up for election this year.

The elected Nominating Committee for 2012-13 is:

Leslee Hamilton

Nancy Ianni Larry Ames Garnetta Annable Helen Chapman

# **Adjournment**

The meeting was adjourned. The next meeting will be on Monday evening, April  $9^{th}$ , at 7:00 pm, at which time the new Directors will take their seats.